Horatio Alger Association Career & Technical Scholarship
Since 1984, the Horatio Alger Association has awarded over $125 million in college scholarships to deserving students. Through nationally recognized educational programs, the Association reaches out directly to our nation's young people with a message of hope, opportunity, responsibility, and perseverance. We are-proud to continue providing support for students seeking to pursue career or technical education in a post-secondary environment. This program provides financial assistance to students throughout the nation who have financial need and have exhibited integrity and perseverance in overcoming personal adversity. Scholarship criteria also include high school completion by spring of 2017, Pell-eligibility, enrollment by fall 2017 with a commitment to pursue and complete a career or technical certificate/degree, and United States citizenship. The Association will award up to 1020 scholarships in 2017 with a maximum award amount of $2,500 depending on the length and cost of the program. Application deadline is June 15, 2017. For more information, or to apply online, visit the Association website.

Delta Kappa Gamma Scholarship
DKG is a professional honor society of key women educators in the United States, Canada, Europe, Latin America and Japan. The organization’s mission is to promote professional and personal growth of women educators and excellence in education. The vision of DKG is to have leading women educators impacting education worldwide.  This scholarship is open to for female twelfth-graders planning on majoring in teacher education in college next fall. Application deadline is April 28, 2017. The award is $500 toward the first year's expense in an accredited college. APPLICATION

Jim Bailey Scholarship
Jim Bailey, past Transportation Director of Roane County Schools, was a very active member of the West Virginia Association for Pupil Transportation. He also worked on the national level to help provide the safest transportation for our children. In memory of Jim Bailey, this scholarship was established to provide assistance to students of West Virginia who attend post secondary vocational and technical programs. Deadline to apply is April 15, 2017. Up to 12 awards given. The award is $600.00. LETTER APPLICATION

Tech Challenge Scholarship
In the spirit of friendly competition, members of the ACT faculty and staff (known as the ACT ALL-STARS) and the Raleigh County Schools Technology Department (known as the TECH TITANS) come together twice a year to have a little fun. Each team hosts a 5K event in hopes of taking home the traveling trophy. All race fees are donated to the Tech Challenge Scholarship Fund. To qualify, student must be a completer in a CTE program. Preference is given to students who competed in high school cross county/track. Multiple awards are possible. Application deadline is April 30, 2017. The award is $500.00 APPLICATION

Beckley Area Foundation Scholarships
The Beckley Area Foundation provides oversight for scholarship funds established by individuals, firms and organizations wishing to assist students in furthering their education Many of the scholarships managed by BAF are designated for use by students pursuing a particular field of study or attending a specific school.  Additionally, there are scholarships that can be used at any college for graduates of certain high schools.  Most of these scholarships must be awarded to local students or at least preference given to such students. Application window opens March 1, 2017. Award amounts vary. LIST OF AVAILABLE SCHOLARSHIPS APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

Fine Homebuilding and SkillsUSA #KeepCraftAlive Scholarship
SkillsUSA is proud to announce, in partnership with Fine Homebuilding, a new scholarship opportunity for SkillsUSA members. Current SkillsUSA members who are high school or college/postsecondary students and alumni association members studying in construction-related fields and planning to continue their education in their craft are eligible to apply now for one of five $5,000 scholarships for the 2017-18 academic year. This includes #KeepCraftAlive affiliate school programs, community college, undergraduate programs and industry certifications. Selections will be based on completion of this application along with a 300-word essay and a letter of support from a teacher, administrator, SkillsUSA advisor or educational/professional mentor. Submitted attachments must be typed, error free and complete. Winners will be acknowledged at a special event during the 53rd Annual National Leadership and Skills Conference, June 19 – 23, 2017 at the Kentucky Exposition Center in Louisville, Ky. Applications are to be submitted to SkillsUSA by May 1, 2017. APPLICATION


Academy of Careers and Technology
390 Stanaford RoadBeckley, WV 25801
PHONE 304-256-4615 - FAX 304-256-4674 - EMAIL info@wvact.net

Raleigh County Board of Education - WV Department of Education- School Closings